Par l’auteure de « 84 Charing Cross Road »

Helene HANFF

Terrible Thomas. Story by Helene Hanff. Pictures by Fritz Siebel.

New York, Evanston, and London, Harper & Row, Publishers, (1964).

In-4 étroit, cartonnage d’édition illustré en couleurs, dos de toile noire, jaquette illustrée en couleurs. (34) pp., illustrations en noir et jaune dans le texte, certaines à pleine page et une repliée. Complet.

Édition originale, peu commune.

Joli livre d’enfants de l’écrivaine américaine Helene Hanff (1916-1997) ; auteure de pièces de théâtre, elle a également écrit des scénarios pour la télévision. En automne 1949, Helene Hanff découvre l’existence de la librairie Marks & Co, située au 84, Charing Cross Road, à Londres, spécialisée dans les livres épuisés, rares et anciens. Elle passe une commande et engage une correspondance privilégiée avec le libraire Frank Doel (1908-1968). S’amorce peu à peu une relation plus familière et amicale qui durera 20 ans et dont le récit sera publié en 1970, sous le titre « 84, Charing Cross Road ». Ce livre épistolaire a connu un énorme succès des deux côtés de l’Atlantique et a fait l’objet d’une adaptation cinématographique, avec Anne Bancroft dans le rôle d’Helene et Anthony Hopkins dans le rôle de Frank Doel, en 1987. Morte à 80 ans, dans une maison de retraite et sans le sou, Helene Hanff avoua avoir manqué le plus important de ses rendez-vous : Frank Doel est mort quelques années avant qu’elle puisse s’offrir le voyage à Londres, et la librairie Marks & Co est fermée pour toujours.

Amusante illustration très vivante de l’artiste américain Frederick « Fritz » Siebel (1913-1991). Né à Vienne de parents tchécoslovaques, il étudie à la Kunstgewerbeschule [École des Arts appliqués] et émigre aux États-Unis en 1936. Il travaille comme artiste graphique dans la publicité (entre autres, affiches et plaquettes pour les studios Paramount Pictures) et se fait remarquer par son affiche de guerre « Someone Talked » récompensée par Eleanor Roosevelt. S’en suit un succès grandissant et des travaux pour de nombreux magazines. En 1957 il crée pour la firme de produits de nettoyage Procter & Gamble la célèbre mascotte « Monsieur Propre ». Il illustre des livres pour enfants à partir de 1958 (notamment les livres de Peggy Parish). Dans les années soixante il monte sa propre agence de publicité Frederick Siebel Associates.

Bel exemplaire, bien complet de la rare jaquette.

Réf. Absent de Catalogue of the Cotsen Children’s Library

Prix : 400,00 euros

By the author of “84 Charing Cross Road”

Helene HANFFTerrible Thomas. Story by Helene Hanff. Pictures by Fritz Siebel.

New York, Evanston, and London, Harper & Row, Publishers, (1964).

Narrow 4to, publisher’s half black cloth over colour illustrated boards, matching colour illustrated dust jacket. (34) pp., text illustrations in black and yellow, a few full-page and one folding. Complete.

First Edition.

Lovely children’s book by the American writer Helene Hanff (1916-1997); author of plays, she also wrote screenplays for television. In the autumn 1949, Helene Hanff discovered the existence of the Marks & Co bookshop, located at 84, Charing Cross Road, in London, specializing in old and rare books. She placed an order and initiated a privileged correspondence with the bookseller Frank Doel (1908-1968). It gradually became a more familiar and friendly relationship that lasted 20 years and whose story was published in 1970, under the title “84, Charing Cross Road”. This epistolary book was a huge success on both sides of the Atlantic and was the subject of a film adaptation, with Anne Bancroft in the role of Helene and Anthony Hopkins in the role of Frank Doel, in 1987. Helen passed away at the age of 80 in a retirement home and penniless, she confessed to having missed the most important of her appointments: Frank Doel had died a few years before she could afford the trip to London, and the bookstore Marks & Co was closed forever.

Amusing, lively illustration by American artist Frederick “Fritz” Siebel (1913-1991). Born in Vienna to Czechoslovakian parents, he studied at the Kunstgewerbeschule [School of Applied Arts] and emigrated to the United States in 1936. He worked as a graphic artist in advertising (including posters and brochures for Paramount Pictures studios) and drew attention with his Eleanor Roosevelt award-winning “Someone Talked” war poster. There followed a growing success and work for many magazines. In 1957 he created the famous mascot Mr Clean for the cleaning products firm Procter & Gamble. He illustrated children’s books from 1958 (notably Peggy Parish’s books). In the 1960s he set up his own advertising agency Frederick Siebel Associates.

Nice copy, complete with the rare dust jacket.

Ref. Not in Catalogue of the Cotsen Children’s Library

Price: 400,00 euros

Get in touch
← Back to the highlights